Warum das Nicht-Implementieren von Technologie auch seinen Preis hat

Juli 22, 2022 | Duetto Content Team

Die Prognose- und Budgetsaison steht wieder vor der Tür. Das bedeutet, dass Revenue- und Finanzteams derzeit Umsatz, Gewinn und Verlust, Kosten und Investitionen bewerten. Für einige scheinen Investitionen in neue Technologien keine Priorität zu haben. Aber der Verzicht auf Investitionen in Technologie hat auch seinen Preis.

Entscheidungsträger müssen die Umsatzchancen und die potenziellen Einsparungen durch Effizienzsteigerungen gegen die Kosten der Implementierung abwägen.

In der Regel verzeichnen Hotels, die Duetto einsetzen, im ersten Betriebsjahr einen RevPAR-Anstieg von 6% und danach einen weiteren Anstieg von 10%. Was die Marktposition angeht, so erzielen Duetto-Kunden einen durchschnittlichen RGI von +12% gegenüber ihren Mitbewerbern. Die Nummer eins in Ihrem Markt zu werden bedeutet, dass Sie die Messlatte setzen, anstatt der Konkurrenz hinterherzulaufen.

Für jeden Tag, jede Woche und jeden Monat, an dem Ihr Haus kein Revenue Management System (RMS) zur Optimierung der Zimmerpreise einsetzt, bleiben Einnahmen auf dem Tisch liegen. Der Hauptgrund für die Investition in ein RMS ist die Steigerung der Einnahmen. 

Unsere jüngste Umfrage „Revenue Management Outlook & Trends Survey 2022" ergab, dass 78% der Hoteliers in den nächsten drei Jahren ihre Investitionen in Hoteltechnik erhöhen wollen. Wenn Sie zu den verbleibenden 22% gehören, werden Sie zurückbleiben.

Die Frage sollte nicht lauten: „Kann ich es mir leisten zu investieren?", sondern eher: „Kann ich es mir leisten, nicht zu investieren?

Warum Hotels den Schritt gewagt haben

Prognosen, Preisautomatisierungen, Open Pricing, das je nach Nachfrage schwankt und nicht im Gleichschritt mit einer Best Available Rate (BAR)-Strategie ist, und eine einfach zu bedienende Technologie zur Unterstützung der Revenue Teams - das sind nur einige der entscheidenden Faktoren für Hoteliers, die in letzter Zeit den Schritt zur Implementierung neuer Technologien gemacht haben.

Design Hotels war auf der Suche nach einem Partner mit Kompetenzen in der Prognose- und Preisautomatisierung, speziell für kleine bis mittelgroße Boutique-Hotels. Wir wollten kleineren Häusern eine stringente Preisstrategie und die Technologie zur Unterstützung dieses Vorhabens ermöglichen, und Duetto bietet genau das. Es passt hervorragend, weil Hoteliers leicht verstehen können, warum das System die Preise auf der Grundlage der idealen Buchungskurve von Duetto erhöht oder senkt und somit die Preise nach Zimmertyp optimiert." - Simon Schwitallik, Head of Channel Analytics bei Design Hotels.

Selbst in solch stressigen Zeiten haben unsere Hotels Verbesserungen erzielt, indem sie den richtigen Ansatz für den jeweiligen Markt gewählt haben. GameChanger ist unser 'Game Changer', wenn es darum geht, die richtige Strategie für den jeweiligen Markt zu wählen, auch wenn sich dieser Markt spontan verändert. Selbst kleine, traditionelle Hotels können sich mit GameChanger leicht verbessern. Wir konnten einen Anstieg des RevPAR innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach der Implementierung von Duetto feststellen und es geht immer noch aufwärts!" - Fabian Trapp, Revenue & Distribution Coordinator bei Gorgeous Smiling Hotels.

3 zusätzliche Faktoren, die bei Technologieinvestitionen zu berücksichtigen sind

Hier sind drei weitere Faktoren, die Sie bei der Investition in ein RMS berücksichtigen sollten:

Prognosen, Budgetierung und Cashflow-Management

Die Technologie für das Revenue Management ermöglicht es den Führungsteams im Hotel, Prognosen und Budgets schneller, genauer und auf einer detaillierteren Ebene zu erstellen, so dass sie letztlich den Cashflow intelligenter verwalten können. Wenn Sie sehen können, wann das Geld eingeht, können Sie besser planen, wann die Zahlungen raus gehen können.

Bei den meisten Hotels gibt es einen Eigentümer, einen Investor oder eine Investorengruppe, an die die Immobilie, die Gruppe oder die Kette berichten muss. Und genau hier kommt das Forecasting zum Tragen. Da viele Hotels auf der Suche nach zusätzlichen Investitionen oder Refinanzierungen sind, ist eine genaue Prognose entscheidend, um die besten Konditionen zu erhalten.

Weniger Kapitalaufwendung, mehr Betriebsausgaben

Der Betrieb Ihrer Technologie über ein Software-as-a-Service-Modell (SaaS) wie Duetto bedeutet, dass Hotels die Kosten verteilen können. Es handelt sich nicht um eine große, einmalige Kapitalaufwendung - Sie kaufen keine Hardware, die unter dem Schreibtisch liegt, veraltet und in Zukunft weitere große Ausgaben erfordert. Vielmehr ist ein cloudbasiertes RMS eine Betriebsausgabe, die auf einem Abonnement Modell basiert. Dadurch ist der ROI schnell und realistisch zu erreichen.

Operativer Betrieb und Arbeitsvorbereitung

Ein RMS, das zukunftsorientierte Daten liefert, kann die Nachfrage genauer verfolgen. Die Verwendung eines cloudbasierten Systems, das den Teammitgliedern unterschiedliche Zugriffsstufen bietet, bedeutet, dass die Verantwortlichen für den Hotelbetrieb, zB. Housekeeping, Technik und Front of House, Zugriff auf die für sie relevanten Daten erhalten. Auf diese Weise können sie Personalpläne erstellen, verderbliche Waren für F&B genauer bestellen, Betriebslasten wie Wäschezählungen verwalten und wichtige Wartungsarbeiten planen.

Kurz gesagt: Ihre Zimmer sind verderbliches Inventar. Sie können die verlorenen Einnahmen von gestern nie wieder zurückholen. Aber durch die Investition in ein RMS können Sie die Zimmerpreise für die Zukunft optimieren und sicherstellen, dass Sie die Erträge entsprechend der Marktnachfrage für jedes Segment, jeden Tag, jeden Kanal, jeden Zimmertyp und andere Variablen erzielen.  

Darüber hinaus bedeutet die Implementierung eines RMS, dass das Revenue Team der Geschäftsführung, den Eigentümern/Investoren oder den Finanzgebern eine genaue Prognose vorlegen kann. Die Abläufe können effizienter gestaltet werden. Und mit einem Abonnement Modell, das Zahlungsbedingungen bietet, die der Gewinnoptimierung förderlich sind, deckt der zusätzliche Gewinn die Abonnementkosten plus Zusatzkosten, sobald das System implementiert ist.

Können Sie es sich wirklich leisten, nicht in Technologie zu investieren?

Entdecken Sie, wie Duetto dazu beitragen kann, den Umsatz und die Effizienz in Ihrem Hotel zu steigern. Kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute, um eine Demo zu buchen: https://www.duettocloud.com/demo  

 

< Browse Blog Posts

Share:

Featured Content

social-post-pulse-gen-2021
The latest market-demand signals

The Duetto Pulse Report is a free, data-driven analysis of information that matters most, updated and distributed on a quarterly basis.

Sign up now
Helios_thumb_hub
Tech Investment Boosts Revenue For Helios Hotels

Duetto's hotel automation technology enabled Helios Hotels to sell out many properties despite pandemic challenges. Read now.

Read blog
ask-banner-1-website
Your revenue questions, answered

A complimentary revenue insights service powered by Duetto's team of experienced hoteliers. Have a question?

Ask Duetto

Sign up for Duetto Digest, a weekly newsletter featuring our top content every Friday.

Subscribe

Why Not Implementing Technology Also Comes At A Cost

July 5, 2022 | Duetto Content Team

The forecast and budget season is approaching again. This means that revenue and finance teams are currently evaluating revenue, profit and loss, costs, and investments. For some, investment in new technology might not seem a priority. But not investing in tech also comes at a cost.

For decision-makers, you need to weigh up the revenue opportunity and the potential savings through increased efficiencies, against the cost of implementation.

Typically, hotels run on Duetto will see a RevPAR uplift of 6% in the first year of operations, and a further 10% gain following that. In terms of market standing, Duetto clients see an average RGI of +12% vs their comp set. Achieving number one in your market means that you are setting the bar, rather than chasing the competition.

For every day, week, and month that your property is not using a revenue management system (RMS) to optimize room rates, revenue is being left on the table. The key reason to invest in an RMS is an uptick in revenue. 

Our recent Revenue Management Outlook & Trends Survey 2022 revealed that 78% of hoteliers planned to increase their investment in hotel tech in the next three years. If you are in the remaining 22% you are going to be left behind.

The question should not be ‘can I afford to invest?’ but rather ‘can I afford not to?’

Why Hotels Took The Leap

Forecasting, pricing automation, Open Pricing that fluctuates according to demand and not in lockstep with a Best Available Rate (BAR) strategy, and having easy-to-use technology to support revenue teams, are just some of the deciding factors for hoteliers who have taken the step to implement new technology in recent times.

“Design Hotels was looking for a partner with competencies in forecasting and pricing automation, specifically for small to medium-sized boutique hotels. We wanted to enable smaller-scale properties with a fluid pricing strategy and the technology to support this endeavor, and Duetto does exactly that. It’s a great fit because hoteliers can easily understand why the system increases or decreases prices based on Duetto’s ideal booking curve, and therefore optimizes prices by room type.” – Simon Schwitallik, Head of Channel Analytics at Design Hotels.

“Even in such stressful times, our hotels have seen improvements by taking the right approach for the relevant market. GameChanger is our ‘game changer’ in terms of choosing the right strategy for the individual market, even if this market changes spontaneously. Even small, traditional hotels can improve easily with GameChanger. We could see RevPAR increasing within two weeks of Duetto being implemented and it’s still going upwards!” – Fabian Trapp, Revenue & Distribution Coordinator at Gorgeous Smiling Hotels.

 

3 Additional Factors To Consider For Technology Investments

Here are three additional factors to weigh up as you consider investing in an RMS:

Forecasting, budgeting & managing cash flow

Revenue management technology enables hotel leadership teams to generate forecasts and budgets more quickly, more accurately, and at a more granular level, which ultimately enables them to be smarter about managing cash flow. If you can see when the money is coming in you can better schedule when payments can go out.

For most hotels, there is an outright owner, investor, or group of investors that the property, group, or chain must report into. And this is where forecasting comes to its fore. As a lot of hotels look for additional investment or refinance, an accurate forecast is vital in securing the best terms.

Less CapEx, More OpEx

Operating your tech stack through a software as a service (SaaS) model such as Duetto means that hotels can spread the cost. It’s not a big, one-off CapEx spend – you are not buying hardware that sits under the desk and becomes outdated, requiring further big spend in the future. Rather a cloud-based RMS is an OpEx spend, based on a subscription model. This makes ROI quick and realistic to achieve.

Operations & scheduling labor

An RMS that provides forward-looking data can more accurately track demand. Using a cloud-based system that can provide varying levels of access to team members, means that hotel operations leaders, such as housekeeping, engineering, and front of house, can get access to the data most relevant to them. This enables them to schedule staff rotas, order more accurately for perishable supplies for F&B, manage operational loads such as linen counts, and schedule essential maintenance works.

In summary, your rooms are perishable inventory. You can never get back the lost revenue from yesterday. But by investing in an RMS you can optimize room rates for the future and ensure that you are yielding according to market demand for each segment, day, channel, room type, and other variables.  

What’s more, implementing an RMS means the revenue team can provide an accurate forecast to leadership, owners/investors or finance providers. Operations can run more efficiently. And with a subscription model offering payment terms conducive to profit optimization, as soon as the system is implemented the incremental gain in revenue will cover the subscription cost plus extra.

Can you really afford not to invest in technology?

Discover how Duetto can help boost revenue and efficiencies at your hotel. Contact us today to book a demo: https://www.duettocloud.com/demo 

 

< Browse Blog Posts

Share:

Featured Content

social-post-pulse-gen-2021
The latest market-demand signals

The Duetto Pulse Report is a free, data-driven analysis of information that matters most, updated and distributed on a quarterly basis.

Sign up now
Revenue Blog Panel Image w_ logo_1600x550
5 Predictions For
Revenue Success In 2021

Staying agile, focusing on local and exploiting your database, these experts share their tips for what could boost your revenue in the year ahead.

Read blog
ask-banner-1-website
Your revenue questions, answered

A complimentary revenue insights service powered by Duetto's team of experienced hoteliers. Have a question?

Ask Duetto

Sign up for Duetto Digest, a weekly newsletter featuring our top content every Friday.

Subscribe