Wie man mit Daten den Gesamtumsatz steigert

Oktober 27, 2022 | Chris Crowley, Chief Revenue Officer at Duetto

Wir alle kennen die ereignislose Geschichte der Datenerfassung. Lästige Anfragen nach der Genehmigung Daten auf eine Weise zu nutzen, die für den Kunden weder nützlich noch transparent ist. "Kreuzen Sie hier ein Kästchen an, damit wir Ihre Daten verwenden können, wie wir wollen, ohne Ihnen wirklich zu sagen, warum", oder noch wichtiger, wie es Ihr Gästeerlebnis verbessern wird.

Die Medien-, Unterhaltungs- und Glücksspielbranche hat uns allen vorgemacht, wie man Daten zur Steigerung des Revenue nutzt. Netflix hat verstanden, dass wir schneller konvertieren, wenn man uns sagt, was wir gerne kaufen würden. Sie haben auch verstanden, dass Personalisierung nicht nur für die ersten Käufe wichtig ist, sondern auch einen großen Beitrag zur Kundenbindung leistet. 

Eine McKinsey-Studie über Daten und Personalisierung aus dem Jahr 2021 zeigt, dass Unternehmen, welche mehr Wert aus Daten schöpfen, schneller wachsen und "40 % mehr Revenue" aus Datenprogrammen mit personalisierten Verkaufs- und Marketingstrategien und -aktivitäten erzielen. 

Und auch die Hospitality Branche hat 2022 eine lange Reise hinter sich. Gespräche über Upselling, Personalisierung und Gästeerlebnisse beim Aufenthalt sind Grund genug für Hotels, Gastdaten zu sammeln, um ihre Reise zu verbessern. Geschäfts- oder Freizeitreisende, Familien oder Alleinreisende, Hotels wissen, was sie wollen, denn sie haben die Daten erfasst und können nun gezielt Werbung und Upselling an die Kunden richten, egal wo sie sind. Das ist doch für alle gut, oder? Die Gäste erhalten ein individuelles Erlebnis und die Hotels erzielen mehr Umsatz.

Das ist die praktische Seite des totalen Revenue Managements, es ist der Ausgangspunkt. Kein technisches Paket, kein Marketingplan und kein Sales Funnel kann seine Aufgabe ohne gute Daten erfüllen - sie sind die Grundbasis einer Revenue-Strategie. 

Wie also machen wir uns die Macht der Daten zunutze, um den gesamten Revenue zu steigern? 

Wir können es in 3 einfache Schritte unterteilen

Identifizieren → Verfolgen → Maximieren 

 

1. Wir bewegen uns von einem System der Aufzeichnung zu einem System des Revenue.

Wir müssen wissen, warum wir Daten sammeln, bevor wir sie sammeln, und was wir mit ihnen machen wollen. Wenn wir über Datenerfassung nachdenken, geht es nicht mehr um eine Datenbank mit Datensätzen, an die wir E-Mail-Kampagnen schicken, sondern um Engagement. Wie können wir die Daten nutzen, um zusätzlichen Revenue zu erzielen? 

Wir müssen die Kundenprofile und das Kundenverhalten verstehen und dann Strategien damit verknüpfen, um den Revenue zu steigern. 

 

2. Erkläre dem Kunden, warum wir die Daten sammeln müssen und wie wir sie nutzen werden, um das Gästeerlebnis zu verbessern.

Kunden sind viel eher bereit, ihre Daten mitzuteilen, wenn sie glauben, dass diese dazu beitragen, ihren Aufenthalt zu personalisieren und ihr Reiseerlebnis direkt zu verbessern. Sobald wir diese Informationen haben, sollten wir sie nutzen, um Gäste zum Kauf von Zusatzleistungen zu animieren und den RevPAG (Revenue per available guest) auf eine Art und Weise zu erhöhen, die durchdacht und personalisiert ist und damit die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Kaufes erhöht. 

 

3. Bereinige deine Daten, bevor du sie in dein Tech Stack einspeist.

Die Ergebnisse deiner Revenue-Tech-Plattformen hängen von guten Daten ab. Egal, ob es sich um PMS-Daten handelt, die in dein RMS eingespeist werden oder um Gästedaten, die in deine Upsell-Integration einfließen - wir brauchen starke Daten, damit wir starke Revenues erzielen können.

Einer der wichtigsten Schritte von Duetto zum Erfolg ist die Bewertung der Datenqualität. In diesem Schritt arbeiten wir mit unseren Betrieben zusammen, um die vom PMS gelieferten Daten zu validieren und Abweichungen zu erkennen und zu beheben.

 

4. Erkenne, welche Datenmodelle für deine Hotelimmobilie am Sinnvollsten sind.

Wenn historische Datenmodelle pre-Covid nicht anwendbar waren, dann sind sie es auch heute nicht. Vorausschauende Daten sind das mächtigste Werkzeug, das wir für genaue Forecasts haben. Eine gute Datenanalyse stammt aus einer Vielzahl von Quellen, um sicherzustellen, dass die veröffentlichten Tarife alle uns zur Verfügung stehenden Daten berücksichtigen:

  • Vorausschauende Daten
  • Daten zum Vergleichspreis
  • Marktdaten
  • Historische Daten
  • Live-Buchungs- und Reservierungsdaten
  • Website-Reklamationen und Abbrüche 

Du kannst alle notwendigen Datenquellen in deinem RMS konsolidieren, um intelligente Geschäftsentscheidungen zu treffen. Dazu gehören saubere interne Echtzeitdaten aus deinem PMS und anderen Integrationen sowie andere Datenquellen deiner Wahl. Kombiniere diese Datenquellen mit marktführenden Analysen und du hast einen Datensatz, der dein Revenue steigert.

 

5. Erlaube den Daten, dir die Kontrolle in einem unsicheren globalen Markt zu geben.

Wir wissen, dass der Markt unbeständig und unvorhersehbar ist - machen wir uns nichts vor. Die "neue Normalität", die uns versprochen wurde, ist die "anhaltende Unsicherheit einer sich ständig verändernden Reiselandschaft". Wir können sie nicht ändern, also sollten wir sie annehmen. Daten geben uns die Kontrolle, sie geben uns Zugang zu Informationen, die wir nutzen können, um unseren Revenue zu steigern. 

Der Wechsel von einem Archivsystem zu einem System des Revenue hilft Hoteliers dabei, jede Einnahmemöglichkeit zu nutzen. Allerdings müssen die Daten zunächst einmal sauber und korrekt sein. Dann musst du wissen, wie du sie nutzen kannst, um Revenue-Möglichkeiten zu identifizieren. Von dort aus kannst du die Einnahmen immer wieder maximieren und den Gesamtumsatz steigern.

Möchtest du mehr darüber erfahren, wie Duetto dir helfen kann, deinen Revenue zu steigern? Nimm noch heute Kontakt auf: https://www.duettocloud.com/contact

< Browse Blog Posts

Share:

Featured Content

social-post-pulse-gen-2021
The latest market-demand signals

The Duetto Pulse Report is a free, data-driven analysis of information that matters most, updated and distributed on a quarterly basis.

Sign up now
Helios_thumb_hub
Tech Investment Boosts Revenue For Helios Hotels

Duetto's hotel automation technology enabled Helios Hotels to sell out many properties despite pandemic challenges. Read now.

Read blog
ask-banner-1-website
Your revenue questions, answered

A complimentary revenue insights service powered by Duetto's team of experienced hoteliers. Have a question?

Ask Duetto

Sign up for Duetto Digest, a weekly newsletter featuring our top content every Friday.

Subscribe

How To Use Data To Drive Total Revenue

October 27, 2022 | Chris Crowley, Chief Revenue Officer at Duetto

We all know the uneventful history of data collection. Annoying requests for permission to use your data in a way that is neither useful nor transparent for the customer. “Tick a box here to allow us to use your data however we want, without really telling you why”, or more importantly, how it will improve your guest experience.

Media, entertainment, and gaming led the way in showing us all how to use data to drive revenue. Netflix understood that we purchase faster if we are told what we might like to buy, they also understood that personalization isn’t just about initial purchases, it goes a long way to securing customer retention rates too. 

A 2021 McKinsey Study on Data and Personalisation showed that companies that capture more value from data grow faster, driving “40% more revenue” from data programs with personalized sales and marketing tactics and activities. 

And in 2022, the hospitality industry has come a long way too. Conversations around upselling, personalization and in-stay guest experiences are reasons enough for hotels to collect guest data to improve their trip. Business or leisure travelers, families or solo explorers, hotels know what they want, because they have tracked it and now they can target adverts and upsells to consumers everywhere they go. It works for everyone, right? The guests get a more personalized experience, and the hotels drive more revenue.

It is the practical side of total revenue management, it is the starting point. No tech stack, no marketing plan, and no sales funnel can do its job without good data - it is the earliest source of a revenue strategy. 

 

So how do we harness the power of data to drive total revenue? 

We can break it down into 3 easy stages:

Identify → Track → Maximize

 

1. We move from a system of record to a system of revenue.

We must know why we are collecting data before we collect it, and what we plan to do with it. When we think about data collection we are no longer talking about a database of records that we send email campaigns to, we are talking about engagement. How can we use the data we have to drive additional revenue? 

We need to understand the customer profiles and behavior,  and then link strategies to them to drive revenue.

 

2. Explain to the customer why we need to collect the information and how we will use it to improve their guest experience.

Customers are far more likely to share information with you if they believe it will help to personalize their stay and directly improve their travel experience. Once we have that information we should use it to drive them towards ancillary services and increase RevPAG (revenue per available guest) in a way that is thoughtful and personalized and therefore more likely to increase their chances of purchasing. 

 

3. Clean up your data before you feed it into your connected tech stack.

The outputs of your revenue tech platforms rely on the inputs of good data. Whether it's the PMS data feeding into your RMS or your guest data feeding into your upsell integration, we need strong data to go in, so strong revenue can come out.

One of Duetto’s critical steps to success is its data quality evaluation. This is the step where we partner with our properties to validate the data provided by the PMS and assist in identifying and resolving variances.

 

4. Know what data models make the most sense for your property.

If historical data models alone didn’t apply pre-COVID then they definitely won't apply today. Forward-looking data is the most powerful tool we have in driving accurate forecasting. Good data analysis comes from a variety of sources to ensure that published rates are taking into account all of the data available to us:

  • Forward-looking data
  • Comp price data
  • Market data
  • Historical data
  • Live booking and reservation data
  • Website regrets and denials 

You can consolidate all necessary data sources in your RMS to make smart business decisions, including real-time, clean internal data from your PMS and other integrations, as well as other data sources of your choosing. Combine those data sources with market-leading analytics and you have a data approach that works to drive revenue.

 

5. Allow data to provide you with control in an uncertain global marketplace.

We know the market is volatile and unpredictable, let’s not pretend otherwise. The “new normal” we were promised is the “continued uncertainty of an ever-changing travel landscape.” We can’t change it, so let’s embrace it. Data gives us control, it gives us access to information that we can use to drive revenue. 

Moving from a system of record to a system of revenue will help hoteliers harness every revenue opportunity. However, the data must be clean and correct in the first place. Then you have to know how to use it to identify revenue opportunities. From there, you can maximize over and over again, driving total revenue. 

Interested to learn more about how Duetto could help boost your revenue? Get in touch today: https://www.duettocloud.com/contact 

< Browse Blog Posts

Share:

Featured Content

social-post-pulse-gen-2021
The latest market-demand signals

The Duetto Pulse Report is a free, data-driven analysis of information that matters most, updated and distributed on a quarterly basis.

Sign up now
Helios_thumb_hub
Tech Investment Boosts Revenue For Helios Hotels

Duetto's hotel automation technology enabled Helios Hotels to sell out many properties despite pandemic challenges. Read now.

Read blog
ask-banner-1-website
Your revenue questions, answered

A complimentary revenue insights service powered by Duetto's team of experienced hoteliers. Have a question?

Ask Duetto

Sign up for Duetto Digest, a weekly newsletter featuring our top content every Friday.

Subscribe