Revenue Rockstar: Deniel Frey

Januar 20, 2022 | Sarah McCay Tams, Director of Marketing Communications.

Deniel Frey ist Vice President of Revenue Management bei H-Hotels mit Hauptsitz in Deutschland und verantwortlich für die Revenue Strategie von 66 Hotels in ganz Europa.

Das Duetto Team hat das Vergnügen, mit Deniel seit fast vier Jahren bei H-Hotels zusammenzuarbeiten. Aber wir wollten mehr über seine Geschichte in der Hospitality Branche herausfinden.

Hier erfahren wir, was Deniels Interesse an einer Karriere in der Hotellerie geweckt hat, wer ihn am meisten inspiriert hat, welches die beste Hotelerfahrung war, die er je als Gast gemacht hat, und welchen Rat er angehenden Hoteliers für ihren Karrierestart geben würde.

Was war Ihre erste Rolle in der Hospitality Branche? Wann hat alles angefangen?

Alles begann, als ich 16 Jahre alt war und einen Wochenendjob hatte, bei dem ich die Minibars in einem der größten Hotels in Europa, dem Hotel Estrel in Berlin, kontrollierte. Das Hotel hatte ein riesiges Konferenzzentrum und etwa 1.000 Zimmer, also eine Menge Minibars!

Was hat Sie dazu bewogen, noch einen Schritt weiter zu gehen?

Der Film 'For Love or Money' mit Michael J. Fox in der Hauptrolle, in dem er den Concierge in einem Hotel spielt, hatte meine volle Aufmerksamkeit. Ich habe den Film als Teenager oft gesehen und träumte davon, in einem Hotel zu arbeiten. Angefangen bei Minibars, habe ich dann im Hotel Adlon by Kempinski gearbeitet, einem wunderschönen Hotel! Ich arbeitete im Housekeeping - ich reinigte Zimmer und arbeitete als Turndown-Kraft.

Ich habe mehr als zwei Jahre lang im operativen Bereich gearbeitet, bevor ich mich entschloss, an der Universität Hospitality Management zu studieren, und so bin ich letztendlich im Revenue Management gelandet.

Erzählen Sie uns von Ihrem weiteren beruflichen Werdegang.

Ich ging nach Innsbruck in Österreich, um Hospitality Management zu studieren. Als Teil meines Studiums musste ich ein Praktikum absolvieren. Ich entschied mich dafür, mich für ein Sales und Marketing Praktikum im Grand Hyatt Berlin zu bewerben. Es gefiel mir, und sie mochten mich! Nach dem Studium begann ich dort als Area Revenue Analyst zu arbeiten. Und damit fing alles an: Ich analysierte das Buchungsverhalten und gab meine Empfehlungen an das Sales und Marketing Team weiter.

Nach drei Jahren wechselte ich als Revenue Manager in das Fünf-Sterne-Hotel Concorde Berlin. Von dort zog ich nach Großbritannien, um bei Principal Hotels als Regional Revenue Manager zu arbeiten. Nachdem ich vier Jahre lang zwischen Berlin und Großbritannien gependelt bin, beschloss ich, in meine Heimat zurückzukehren und zu H-Hotels zu gehen, wo ich schnell zum VP of Revenue Management befördert wurde.

Was war bisher Ihre größte Herausforderung in Ihrer Karriere und wie haben Sie sie gemeistert?

Ich dachte, ich hätte in meiner Karriere viele Herausforderungen und viele Erfolge zu verzeichnen, aber als COVID eintrat, wurden sie alle irrelevant. Der Umgang mit der Pandemie war sowohl meine größte Herausforderung als auch mein größter Erfolg.

Am Anfang, als die ersten Stornierungen eintrafen und das Reiseverbot in Kraft trat, hatten wir tonnenweise Anfragen und Reservierungen; die Kunden wollten ein Deal haben oder eine Rückerstattung erhalten, und wir wussten nicht, was wir tun sollten! Wir wussten nicht einmal, ob es legal war, das Geld von einer bestehenden Buchung zu behalten. Also haben wir das Geld zurückerstattet. Es war eine Katastrophe. Der März 2020 war der schlimmste Monat in meiner gesamten Laufbahn.

Aber dann wurden die Beschränkungen aufgehoben, und die Leute fingen wieder an zu reisen. Zum Glück haben wir während der Sperre an unserer Strategie gearbeitet, und als der Reiseverkehr wieder aufgenommen wurde, haben wir unsere Konkurrenz übertroffen. Wir haben sehr gute Umsätze erzielt, unsere Prognosen sind recht solide, und wir sind nicht weit von den Budgets entfernt, die wir uns vorgestellt hatten.

Wir haben gute Ergebnisse erzielt, weil wir schnell gehandelt haben, und ich würde sagen, das ist mein persönlich größter Erfolg und der größte Erfolg meines Teams. Wir wussten, dass die Reisetätigkeit irgendwann zurückkehren würde. Wir haben dafür gekämpft, dass unsere Mitarbeiter an ihren Arbeitsplätzen und an ihren Schreibtischen bleiben und nicht nach Hause geschickt werden. Wir haben Strategien für die Sommermonate entwickelt, wir haben immer wieder auf Gruppenanfragen reagiert und wir haben den Kontakt zu unseren Kunden aufrechterhalten, um sie zu informieren, was passiert ist.

Wer ist die denkwürdigste Person, die Sie während Ihrer Karriere getroffen haben?

Ich hatte während meiner gesamten Laufbahn einen Mentor, der mich sehr lange begleitet hat, und das ist Ash Kapur von der Starwood Capital Group.

Er ist der klügste Mann, dem ich je begegnet bin, und ein echter Revenue Spezialist. Er war ein guter Mentor, ein sehr professioneller und sehr sympathischer Mensch, und seine Meinung war mir immer sehr wichtig. Er hat meine Karriere während meiner Zeit bei Concorde und während meiner Zeit bei Principal Hotels, die zu Starwood Capital gehörten, immer vorangetrieben.

Ich habe viel durch ihn gelernt und ich habe immer geschätzt, was er für mich getan hat.

Was war Ihr denkwürdigstes Hotelerlebnis als Gast?

Ich hatte schon viele tolle Hotelaufenthalte, vor allem während meiner Zeit in Großbritannien, als ich in Hotels arbeitete. Ich habe einmal mit meiner Frau im Principal York Hotel übernachtet, und das Team dort hat einfach die perfekten Vorbereitungen für uns getroffen. Es war einfach unvergesslich: persönliche Notizen, tolle Zimmer, großartige Ausblicke, persönliche Annehmlichkeiten. Aber das Besondere war der Empfang. Jeder im Hotel kannte mich, weil ich schon oft dort war, aber bei diesem Aufenthalt verhielt man sich nicht so, als wäre ich ein Teammitglied, sondern eher wie ein geschätzter Gast, der viel Geld für dieses Zimmer bezahlt hat. Es war ein ganz besonderer Aufenthalt.

Erzählen Sie uns von dem seltsamsten oder lustigsten Tag, den Sie je bei der Arbeit erlebt haben.

Es gab einen Tag, an den ich mich erinnere, als ich bei Concorde arbeitete und die Schicht des On Duty Managers übernahm. Das hat mir immer Spaß gemacht, weil wir in einem Fünf-Sterne-Hotel übernachten und ein sehr schönes Restaurant genießen konnten, aber dieser Abend war anders...

Wir hatten einen Feueralarm und mussten das Hotel vollständig evakuieren, was das Schlimmste ist, was es geben kann - 600 Leute müssen auf die Straße geschickt und dann wieder eingesammelt werden.

Und am selben Abend hatten wir sechs Gäste im Restaurant, die eine gefälschte Kreditkarte benutzt haben. Sie gaben Tausende von Euro für Champagner aus, aßen alles, was auf der Speisekarte stand und benutzten eine gefälschte Kreditkarte, und die Polizei musste kommen. Das war die seltsamste Schicht, die ich je als On Duty Manager hatte!

Welchen Rat würden Sie jemandem geben, der heute eine Karriere im Gastgewerbe in Erwägung zieht?

Zweimal im Jahr halte ich Vorlesungen über Revenue Management am Management Center der Universität Innsbruck. Das Thema Revenue ist bei allen sehr beliebt, weil es in der Hotelfachschule noch nicht so häufig gelehrt wird. Ich sage den Studenten immer, wenn sie mit dem Studium fertig sind und sich entschließen, in der Hospitality Branche zu arbeiten, dann sollten sie nicht gleich in den ersten zwei Jahren aufgeben, denn die ersten zwei Jahre sind die härtesten, und das Einstiegsgehalt ist einfach miserabel.

Es ist besser, sich einen Zweitjob oder einen Teilzeitjob zu suchen, um sich das Leben zu finanzieren, während man sich hocharbeitet. Aber das gilt nur für die ersten zwei Jahre, also sollen sie ehrgeizig sein und die ersten zwei Jahre durchhalten, danach wird es besser werden.

< Browse Blog Posts

Share:

Featured Content

social-post-pulse-gen-2021
The latest market-demand signals

The Duetto Pulse Report is a free, data-driven analysis of information that matters most, updated and distributed on a quarterly basis.

Sign up now
Helios_thumb_hub
Tech Investment Boosts Revenue For Helios Hotels

Duetto's hotel automation technology enabled Helios Hotels to sell out many properties despite pandemic challenges. Read now.

Read blog
ask-banner-1-website
Your revenue questions, answered

A complimentary revenue insights service powered by Duetto's team of experienced hoteliers. Have a question?

Ask Duetto

Sign up for Duetto Digest, a weekly newsletter featuring our top content every Friday.

Subscribe

Skip to content

Blog

Revenue Rockstar: Deniel Frey

Deniel Frey is Vice President of Revenue Management at H-Hotels, headquartered in Germany, and overseeing revenue strategy for 66 hotels across Europe.

Team Duetto has had the pleasure of working with Deniel for nearly four years with H-Hotels. But we wanted to find out more about his hospitality story.

Here we explore what first attracted Deniel to a career in hospitality, who has most inspired him, the best hotel experience he’s ever had as a guest, and what one piece of advice he would give to budding new hoteliers as they start their careers.

What was your first role in hospitality? When did it all begin?

It all started when I was 16 years old and I had a weekend job checking the mini bars of one of the biggest hotels in Europe, the Hotel Estrel in Berlin. The hotel had a huge conference center and about 1,000 rooms, so it had a lot of mini bars!

What attracted you to take that a step further?

I was attracted by the movie ‘For Love or Money’ starring Michael J Fox, where he was acting as the concierge in a hotel. I watched that movie a lot as a teenager and had a dream to be a part of a hotel. From mini bars, I went to work at the Hotel Adlon by Kempinski, a beautiful hotel! I worked in housekeeping - cleaning rooms and working as a turndown clerk.

I worked in operations for more than two years before deciding to go to university to study hospitality management and that was how I ended up in revenue management.

Tell us about your career journey from there.

I went to Innsbruck in Austria to study hospitality management. As part of my degree, I had to do an internship. I decided to apply for a sales and marketing internship at Grand Hyatt Berlin. I loved it and they loved me! After university, I started working with them as an Area Revenue Analyst. And that's where it all started: analyzing reservation patterns and giving my recommendations to the sales and marketing team.

After three years I moved on to become a Revenue Manager at the five-star Hotel Concorde Berlin. From there I moved to the UK to work with Principal Hotels as Regional Revenue Manager. After commuting four years between Berlin and the UK I decided to return home and joined H-Hotels, where I was quickly promoted to VP of Revenue Management.

What's been your biggest challenge so far in your career and how did you navigate through it?

I thought that I had a lot of challenges in my career and a lot of success stories, but when COVID kicked in they all became irrelevant. Navigating the pandemic has been both my biggest challenge and my biggest success.

In the beginning, when the cancelations started coming in and the travel ban was in place, we had tons of inquiries and reservations; customers wanted to have a deal or get a refund, and we didn't know what to do! We didn’t even know whether it was legal to keep the money from an existing reservation. So we refunded. It was a mess. March 2020 was the worst month in my whole career.

But then restrictions lifted, and people started traveling again. Thankfully, we spent time working on strategy during the lockdown, and as travel resumed, we outperformed our competitors. We were achieving very good revenues, our forecasts are quite solid, and we are not far away from the budgets we thought.

We saw strong results because we were quick to act, and I would say, this is personally my biggest success and the biggest success of my team. We knew that at some point travel would return. We fought to keep our team in their jobs and at their desks, and not be sending them home. We set up strategies for the summer months, we kept responding to group inquiries, and we kept in contact with our customers, informing them what was happening.

Who is the most memorable person you have met during your career?

I have had one mentor throughout my entire career, who was part of my career for a very long time, and that’s Ash Kapur from Starwood Capital Group.

He is the smartest guy I’ve ever come across and a real revenue specialist. He was a good mentor; a very professional and very likable person and his opinion was always very important to me. He was always pushing my career during my Concorde times and during my time at Principal Hotels because they were part of Starwood Capital.

I’ve learned a lot through him, and I always appreciated what he has done for me.

What's been your most memorable hotel experience as a guest?

I’ve had a lot of amazing hotel stays, especially during my time working in the UK when I was based in hotels. I once stayed at the Principal York Hotel with my wife and the team there just made the most perfect arrangements for us. It was just very memorable: personal notes, great room, great views, personalized amenities. But what was most special was the welcome. Everyone at the hotel knew me because I stayed there often, but the way they acted on this stay was not like I was a team member, but rather like a valued guest who was paying a lot of money for this room. It was a very special stay.

Tell us about the strangest or funniest day you’ve ever had at work.

There was one day I remember when I was working for Concorde, and I was doing the manager-on-duty shift. I always enjoyed these because we could stay in a five-star hotel and enjoy a very nice restaurant, but this evening was different…

We had a fire alarm and had to do a full evacuation of the hotel, which is the worst thing you can have - 600 people must be sent out to the street and then collected again.

And the same evening we had six guests in the restaurant who were using a fraudulent credit card. They spent thousands on champagne, they had been eating everything on the menu and using a fake credit card, and the police had to come. It was the strangest manager-on-duty shift ever!

What one piece of advice would you give to anyone considering a career in hospitality today?

Twice a year I give lectures in revenue management at the Management Center at Innsbruck University. Everyone loves the revenue topic because it's still something not frequently taught at hotel school. I always tell the students that when they finish studying and decide to work in the hospitality industry just don't give up in the first two years, because the first two years are the hardest ones, and your entry salary is just rubbish.

You are better off searching for a second job or part-time job somewhere to afford your life while you work your way up. But it's only for the first two years so be ambitious and sit tight for two years and afterward, it's going to be better.

 

Back to Blog

Sarah McCay Tams, Director of Marketing Communications.

Sarah joined Duetto in 2015 as a contributing editor covering Europe, Middle East & Africa (EMEA). In 2017, she was promoted to Director of Content, EMEA, and in 2022 promoted to Director of Marketing Communications. An experienced B2B travel industry journalist, Sarah spent 14 years working in the Middle East, most notably as senior editor – hospitality for ITP Publishing Group in Dubai, where she headed up the editorial teams on Hotelier Middle East, Caterer Middle East and Arabian Travel News. Sarah is now based back in the UK.

Speak to an expert

Contact us